Mudra, it works, benefits and types…

‘Mudras’ are systematic hand gestures. Literally, Mudra in Sanskrit means a posture/seal. Mudras are a subtle science of arranging your body in a certain way. The way your systems functions can be altered just by changing the positions of your palm By doing this, you can pinpoint your energy to any cell in the body if you want.There are hundreds of mudras, some for health, some for wellbeing, some for creating certain other kinds of processes. For different aspects of life there are different mudras.

How does Mudra work?

According to the science of yoga, the human body is made up of five basic elements – the Pancha Tatvas.  Imbalance of these elements disrupts the immunity system and causes disease. Deficiencies in any of these elements can be made up by connecting one part of the body with another in a particular manner through Mudras.  In our body we have seven chaka. all the chakras denotes few of the elements amogs 5. The 5 fingers of the hands represent these 5 elements :

The Thumb symbolises the Fire
The Forefinger symbolises the  wind
The Middle finger symbolises the Ether
The Ring finger symbolises the Earth
The Little or small finger symbolises the Water

Specific folds, mutual positioning or postures called mudras of the fingers in one or both hands were discovered by the Vedic scientists of yoga for maintaining the natural order and healthy distribution of the pancha tatvas. Regular practice of these mudras is affirmed by the experts as an excellent method of ensuring a radiantly healthy and vigorous life. Harmonious proportion of these elements helps in natural maintenance of a vigorous body and a happy mind.

Let’s know the benefits..

  1. Mudra is the window of spirituality.
  2. Mudras are the switchboard of the body.
  3. Glands are affected by Mudras..
  4. Chakras are activated by Mudras.
  5. Mudra  can cure the disease and light the atma jyoti.
  6. Balances the five tatwa of our body.
  7. Benefits physical, Mental and spiritual level.
  8. Strong the immune system to fight against the disease.
  9. Give Body energy
  10. it controls tridosha- vaat,pitt and kaff..

Tatva Mudra:-

  1. Gyan Mudra
  2. Akash Mudra
  3. Prithvi Mudra
  4. Varun Mudra
  5. Vayu Mudra
  6. Shunya Mudra
  7. Surya Mudra
  8. Jalodarshani Mudra
  9. Ling Mudra

Pranic Mudras:-

  1. Prana Mudra
  2. Apan Mudra
  3. Apan Vayu Mudra
  4. Udan MUdra
  5. Saman Mudra
  6. Vyan Mudra


There are many maha Mudra. We will have a blog ahead on them.



Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *